Live shows and overwhelming bottom end

• February 26, 2023 at 1:12 pm #5004
      Mitch Raboy
      Participant

I’ve been to two live music shows recently where the bottom end was out of control.  In one case I had to leave. I first thought it was an acoustic issue or sound mixing error.  I’m now thinking this is a trend and that this would be a good place to get some reactions.

The two concerts were both major acts. The first was Lake Street Dive in New Haven at a theater similar to the Beacon in NYC. Bass drum and low strings on acoustic bass seemed so enhanced and/or sub woofers pushed way too far. This is the one I left early.

The second time was at City Winery in NYC. Artist was Sheila E. Bass drum seemed to trigger a low frequency oscillator. Made the bass drum totally undefined. I’m a drummer and was totally annoyed by this.

Any thoughts?

• February 27, 2023 at 2:06 pm #5016
        Bob Olhsson

“Kick in front” live mixes have always frustrated me. The artists love it because it’s what their heroes do but not anybody else.

• February 28, 2023 at 5:07 am #5026
          Bob Katz
          Keymaster

Part of it, of course, is the room. For part of the concert stand at the mix position and let us know if it sounds boomy over there. If it does, chalk it up to the taste of the live sound engineer and/or the boomy room.

• February 28, 2023 at 5:38 pm #5029
            Mitch Raboy
            Participant

The first time around I thought it must be the room or not a great mixer. The second time made me think this is a trend. If it is, its not a good one. I’m thinking this is borrowed from Hip Hop records use of 808 synth to make that really heavy low low end. Sheila E’s bass drum was definitely triggering a very low and loud tone. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to stand near the mix position in either case. Next time.

I won’t be going to many live shows if my fears are born out. Thanks for the replies.

• February 28, 2023 at 9:55 pm #5030